Wednesday, October 25, 2006

Summary of children shows on DVD

"Even stevens"

Even stevens is the story of the Stevens family, an upper middle class family in California. Join the misadventures of Louis and his perfectionist sister, Ren, as they focus their life in different situations and misadventures. Even stevens was aired from 2000 to 2003 with 3 seasons and 65 episodes on the disney channel.

Even stevens DVD

"The best of the muppet show"

The Muppets are back and can be seen from the pilot episode to the finale. The muppet show was aired from 1976 to 1981. The show starred the Muppets(Kermit the frog, Miss piggy, Fozzie the bear, Big bird, Bert and Ernie, Elmo, and Oscar the Grouch) with the late Jim Henson.

The best of the muppet show DVD

Wednesday, October 18, 2006

Third batch of Western TV shows summaries

"The Gene Autry show"

The Gene Autry show is a show hosted by the legendary singing cowboy named Gene Autry with his sidekick, Pat Buttram, from town to town to bring cheers, justice, and Champion, his trusty horse, to the old southwest.

The Gene Autry show was aired from 1950 to 1956 with 4 seasons and 91 episodes.

The Gene Autry show DVD


Bronco focuses the story after the end of the American civil war. Bronco Layne, a former Confederate army captain, looks for his fortune in the west. Bronco also became a partner of Cheyenne TV series. Bronco was aired from 1958 to 1962 on ABC channel with 4 seasons and 68 episodes.

Bronco DVD

"Into the West"

Into the West is one of the latest Western TV shows that is aired shortly on TNT. It started from June 10, 2005 to July 22, 2005 with a total of 12 hours air time. Into the west shows the life of the people in West America from 1820 to 1890. Directed by Steven Spielberg, Into the west recieved 16 nominations for the Emmy awards for Outstanding Miniseries, 2 for Outstanding Cinematography for a Miniseries or Movie, Outstanding Art Direction, Outstanding Casting, Outstanding Sound Editing, and more.

Into the west DVD

Tuesday, October 17, 2006

More on Western TV shows

"How the west was won "

How the west was won deals with the story of Zeb Macahan, a rugged mountain man living in Dakota Territory for ten years, who returned to Virginia to visit his brother's family who were getting ready to take a long trip to the west. As the civil war began, Zeb's brother, Timothy, returned to the east while Kate, Timothy's wife was killed in an accident. Leaving four children behind, Zeb takes care of those children while their father is in the east and their mother gone. Luke, the eldest among the four children, killed three men as a result for self-defense. Laura is the beautiful daughter of Timothy, Jessie is a tomboyish daughter of Timothy and Josh is the most flamboyant among the four who is anxious to be the man of the family. Aunt Molly, Kate's sister, came to aid Zeb on their travels from any dangers.

How the west was won was aired from 1977 to 1978 as mini-series and in 1979 as regular series with a total of 25 episodes.

How the west was won DVD

" Johnny Ringo"

Johnny Ringo deals with the story of the former gunfighter, Johnny Ringo, who became a sheriff in a small town in the west. With the aid of his deputy, Cully, and his girl, Laura Thomas, they can keep the peace in town with their gunfighting skills and a good strategy.

Johnny Ringo was aired from1959 to 1960 with 38 episodes. The TV series was also based on the story from the real Johnny Ringo, but the difference of the real Johnny Ringo and the series, the original Johnny Ringo wears no badge.

Johnny Ringo DVD

"Have gun, will travel"

Have gun will travel is a story of an educated man, Paladin, who is also a gunfighter and a traveled man. He graduated in West Point and served as an officer of the Union during the Civil war. He went to the west after the war and became a “gun for hire”. He stayed at Hotel Carlton in San Francisco and dressed in fancy clothes, enjoyed fine wine, expensive cigars, and play the piano.
Paladin uses his diplomatic skills in gunfighting to try resolving conflicts. He carries his custom-made pistol during combat that is perfectly balanced and a rifled barrel.

Have gun will travel was aired from 1957 to 1963 with 6 seasons and 225 episodes on CBS. Have gun will travel also have a radio show broadcast that consist of 106 episodes from November 23, 1958 to November 22, 1960.

Have gun will travel DVD

Friday, October 13, 2006

Information on Western TV Shows

"Maverick "

Maverick Brothers, Brett and Bart, are well dressed gamblers who migrate from town to town always looking for a good game. Poker is their favorite but they have been known to play such odd card games as Three-toed Sloth on occasion. The show would occasionally feature both or all three Mavericks. Cross-over appearances from the other Warner Brothers western programs were an occasional feature. First seen as a drama, the show began to develop a sense of humor in the first season that carried it through it's run.

Maverick was aired from September 22, 1957 to July 8, 1962 on ABC with 5 seasons and 125 episodes.

Maverick DVD

"Wanted: Dead or Alive"

Wanted: Dead or Alive was aired from 1958 to 1961. The story is about the bounty hunter, John Randall, who carried with a sawed-off rifle and and earrings for a good cause.

Wanted: Dead or Alive DVD

"Black Saddle"

Peter Breck and Russell Johnson starred in this tale of an ex-gunman who began using the law to subdue the owlhoots who circumvented prairie law.

Breck and Johnson did well in this series, but the plot and limited action were too much of a departure for the series to catch on. Still, its worth a look to see these interesting actors early on in their budding careers.